# John F. Dequine Award for 2014:

The John F. Dequine Awards are presented for the best fisheries paper presentation at the annual SEAFWA conference.

Runner Up, Dequine Award:

Travis Tuten, Andrew Dutterer, Kevin Johnson, Eric Nagid, and Matthew Lauretta, coauthors) of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Commission and the National Marine Fisheries Service (M. Lauretta only).

*Title:* Variability in Haul Seine Retention Rates and its Effects on Abundance and Size Structure Estimates of Black Crappie and Sunfish.

- plaque and \$50 check; certificate for co-authors

### 1st Place, Dequine Award:

Greg Binion, Dan Daugherty and Kristopher Bodine, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.

*Title:* Population Dynamics of Alligator Gar in Choke Canyon Reservoir, Texas: Implications for Management.

- plaque and \$100 check, certificates for co-authors

# **Best Student Subunit Award for 2014:**

#### **North Carolina State University**

From faculty advisor Dr. James Rice:

The North Carolina Subunit is a great pleasure to work with. In addition to participating in the AFS at the Chapter, Division and Parent Society levels, the Subunit is active in a variety of education and outreach activities. These include judging elementary school science fairs, speaking to classes, working with 4-H and the Boy Scouts, conducting numerous cane pole fishing events, and coordinating and overseeing the fisheries portion of the field competition at the annual Southeastern Wildlife Conclave. The Subunit raises funds that provide travel scholarships for undergraduates, women and minorities, and graduate students to attend meetings.

# **Outstanding Achievement Award -- SDAFS 2014**

The Outstanding Achievement Award was given to **Wes Porak** of the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission for his contributions to the advancement of fisheries conservation of native black basses.

### C. W. Watson Award – 2014 SEAFWA

**Fred Harris** of the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission (former AFS and Southern Division AFS President) received the prestigious C. W. Watson Award at the 2014 SEAFWA Conference.

## **Best Poster Award – SDAFS 2015:**

First Author:

**Eric Tidmore** (West Liberty University). Epigean Crayfishes of the North, Middle, and South Forks of the Kentucky River: Life History and Ecology.

- plaque; certificates for co-authors (Nicole Sadecky and Zachary Loughman)

## **Best Student Presentation Awards – SDAFS 2015:**

2nd place, Best Student Presentation:

First Author:

**Derek L. Bahr** (University of Georgia). Atlantic Sturgeon Recruitment in the Savannah River, Georgia.

- plaque; certificates for co-authors (**Douglas L. Peterson**)

1st place, Best Student Presentation:

First Author:

**David A. Dippold** (University of Southern Mississippi). Estimation and Validation of the Length-at-Age Relationship of Mississippi's Spotted Seatrout.

- plaque; certificates for co-authors (Robert T. Leaf, J. Read Hendon and James Franks)

# Additional Awards – SDAFS 2015:

Resolution of Appreciation to the Host Chapter (Program & Meeting Chair, Host Chapter):

General Meeting Chair: Joey Slaughter (plaque) General Meeting Co-Chair: Patrick O'Rouke (plaque)

Program Chair: Steve Sammons (plaque)
Program Co-Chair: Cecil Jennings (plaque)

Local Arrangements Co-Chair: **Joel Fleming** (plaque) Local Arrangements Co-Chair: **Chris Harper** (plaque) Registration and Financial Chair: **Rebecca Brown** (plaque) Registration Co-Chair, Webmaster, and Digital Media Chair: Nicole Rankin (plaque)

Audiovisual and Technology Chair: Chris Kalinowsky (plaque)
Poster Session Chair: Bryant Bowen (certificate of appreciation)
Symposia Chair: John Kilpatrick (certificate of appreciation)
Workshop Chair: Tim Bonvechio (certificate of appreciation)
Student Affairs Chair: Brad Ray (certificate of appreciation)
Student Affairs Co-Chair: Brian Irwin (certificate of appreciation)
Student Affairs Co-Chair & Federal Liaison: Cynthia Williams (certificate of appreciation)

### Outgoing President Plaque (2014 – 2015): John R. Jackson

SDAFS thanks the **Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission** for their efforts to host the 68th Annual Conference of the Southeastern Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies in Destin, Florida in October 2014.