# Awards at the 2017 SDAFS Business Meeting Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

# John F. Dequine Award (2016)

The John F. Dequine Awards are presented for the best fisheries paper presentation at the annual SEAFWA Conference.

#### Runner up:

Patrick O'Rouke (formerly with Georgia Dept. of Natural Resources, currently with Georgia Power)

Title: "Movement and Growth of Wild Brown Trout in the Chattahoochee River below Lake Lanier, Georgia"

Awarded a plaque and \$50 Check

#### First Place:

Jeremy T. Risley, co-authors: Ronald L. Johnson and Jeffrey W. Quinn (Arkansas Game and Fish Commission)

Title: "Evaluation of the Commerically Exploited Paddlefish Fishery in the Lower Mississippi River of Arkansas"

Awarded a plague and \$100 check; co-authors received certificates

# **Distinguished Service Award**

Not Awarded

# **Outstanding Achievement Award**

J.R. Shute and Patrick Rakes (Conservation Fisheries, Incorporated)

Awarded for their role in the conservation and preservation of imperiled fishes. They have been leaders in the recovery of 60 imperiled species in the eastern United States, leading to the delisting of several of these species and publication of guidelines for the propagation of imperiled species.

# **Outstanding Chapter Award**

Not Awarded

### **Best Student Sub-Unit Award**

#### North Carolina State University

Awarded for their commitment to AFS at all levels, as well as their numerous outreach and fundraising activities, monthly meetings, and communications efforts.

# From the 2016 SDAFS Meeting in Wheeling, WV

#### **Best Poster Award**

Luv Viswa, co-authors: Derek Gray, David Argent, and William Kimmel (California University of Pennsylvania)

Title: "Does the Spiny Water Flea Dominate Communities in the Allegheny River?"

Awarded a plague and \$50 check; co-authors received certificates

#### **Best Student Presentation Award**

#### Second Place:

Edward Stowe, co-author: Douglas Peterson (University of Georiga)

Title: "Using Side-Scan Sonar to Assess the Atlantic Sturgeon Spawning Run in the Altamaha River" Awarded a plaque and \$50 Check; co-author received a certificate

#### First Place:

Alex Cummins, co-authors: Adam Fox, Chris Kalinowsky, Richard Chandler, Matt Streich, Douglas Peterson (University of Georgia)

Title: "Seasonal Movements and Annual Mortality Rates of Tripletail (Lobotes surinamensis) in the Southeast"

Awarded a plaque and \$100 check; co-authors received certificates

#### Committee Awards

### Robert M. Jenkins Memorial Reservoir Research Scholarship

Presented by Chair of the SDAFS Reservoir Committee, Lawrence Dorsey to:

**Dray Carl** (Oklahoma State University)

Awarded a \$500 Scholarship

# Jimmie Pigg and Melissa Coughlan Memorial Outstanding Student Achievement Award

Presented by Chair of the SDAFS Warmwater Streams Technical Committee, Brian Alford to:

Corey Dunn (University of Missouri)

Awarded \$500 award and one-year complimentary AFS Membership

# Catfish Management Committee Scholarship

Presented by Chair of the SDAFS Catfish Management Technical Committee, Eric Ganus to:

**Zach Moran** (Arkansas Technical University)

Awarded the \$300 Scholarship for his work with blue catfish in Arkansas

# Noreen Clough Memorial Scholarship for Females in Fisheries

Presented by Chair of the SDAFS Black Bass Conservation Committee Gene Gilliland to:

Whitney (Jacobs) Della Torre (formally at the University of Georgia, now an Environmental Law Student)

Awarded \$1000 Scholarship

# Additional Awards, 2017

**Certificate of Appreciation** to *David Wellman* for his work as the Student Affairs Acting Chair at the 2016 SDAFS meeting in Wheeling, West Virginia.

# Resolution of Appreciation to the Host Chapter (Program & Meeting Chair, Host Chapter):

Host Chapter: Oklahoma Chapter

General Meeting Chair: Kurt Kuklinski (plaque)

Program Chair: Jim Long (plaque)

Symposium Chair: Jason Schooley (certificate)

Poster Chair: Steve O'Donnell (Certificate)

Workshop Chair: Dan Shoup (Certificate)

Student Affairs Chair: Nicole Rankin (Certificate)

Registration Chair: Bill Wentroth (Certificate)

Fundraising Chair: Ken Cunningham (Certificate)

Local Arrangements Chair: Barry Bolton (Certificate)

Technology Chair: Don Groom (Certificate)

Meeting Webmaster: Nathan Copeland (Certificate)