# Awards at the 2018 SDAFS Business Meeting

San Juan, Puerto Rico | March 9, 2018

## John F. Dequine Award for 2017

The John F. Dequine Awards are presented for the Best Fisheries Paper presentation at the annual Southeastern Association of Fish & Wildlife Agencies (SEAFWA) conference. The 2017 SEAFWA Conference took place October 29 – November 1 in Louisville, KY.

### **First Place:**

Leslie Burger\*, Wes Neal, and Robert Luck (Mississippi State University) The Role of Private Ponds in Recruiting the Next Generation of Anglers

## **Runner-up:**

Wes Neal \* and Clint Lloyd (Mississippi State University)

Response of Fish Populations to Floating Streambed Wetlands

-----

# **Best Student Sub-Unit Award for 2017**

## North Carolina State University

The NCSU student sub-unit fosters professional development opportunities for their members through a variety of services and hand-on activities. The sub-unit held field trips and workshops, as well as conducted educational outreach that have reach more than 1,000 K-12 students. Unit members gave 29 presentations at 15 difference conferences/workshops and was able to sponsor several travel awards.

# **Outstanding Chapter Award for 2017**

## Virginia Chapter

The Virginia Chapter of AFS continually encouraged and recognizes their chapter members. They frequently hold student-mentor luncheons at annual meetings and in 2017 initiated a Virginia Junior Fisheries Biologist program which gave a student a \$3,000 scholarship and work with a mentor on summer project. In addition, the chapter has awarded over \$2,300 in scholarships and the chapter is completing a field guide to "The Fishes of Virginia".

# **Outstanding Achievement Award for 2017**

Not Awarded

# **Distinguished Service Award for 2017**

Two recipients were awarded the Distinguished Service Award for 2017:

## Dr. Steve Sammons and Dr. Hal Schramm

Dr. Sammons has served as the Fisheries Editor for the Journal of Southeastern Association of Fish and Wildlife Agencies for the past 7 years. Because of his commitment and dedication to the quality of the journal, it is now recognized as a quality peer-reviewed journal. Dr. Sammons also played a significant role in transforming, upgrading, and modernizing SEAFWA's annual publication during its transition from a paper Proceedings to an electronic journal in 2014.

Dr. Schramm has made substantial and meaningful contributions to fisheries management, ecology, education, and public outreach, that when taken cumulatively, constitute a monumental contribution to the fisheries management profession. He has served as co-editor for Fisheries Management and Ecology, co-edited two AFS Proceedings, and has served as Associate Editor for the North American Journal of Fisheries Management. He has also mentored and advised many undergraduate students and directed theses for over 30 graduate students.

# Awards from the 2017 SDAFS Meeting in Oklahoma City, OK

# **Best Student Poster Award**

Jessica Pease (Texas Tech University)

Habitat Use and Movement Patterns of Guadalupe Bass: Contrasting Main Stem versus Tributary Stream Populations

# **Best Student Presentation Award**

#### **First Place:**

Adam Fox\* and Douglas Peterson (University of Georgia)

Status of Atlantic Sturgeon in the Satilla, St. Marys, and St. Johns Rivers

#### **Runner-up:**

Kevin R. Keretz\*, Harold L. Schramm Jr., Colin P. Dinken, and Peter J. Allen (Mississippi State University)

Independent Effects of Temperature, Dissolved Oxygen, and Swimming on Survival of Anglercaught Largemouth Bass

## **Resolution of Appreciation to the Host Chapter and Meeting Chairs**

Host Chapter: Puerto Rico Chapter General Meeting Co-Chairs: Miquel Garcia & Pat Mazik Program Chairs: Tom Kwak & Craig Lilyestrom Symposium and Workshop Chair: Steve Lochmann Poster Chair: Ramon Martin Student Affairs Chairs: Vilmarie Roman, Alexandra Galindo, John Galvez & Gus Engman Registration Chairs: Kim Bonvechio & Darien Lopez Finance Chair: Brandon Keplinger Fundraising Chairs: Wes Neal & Lourdes Olmeda Local Arrangements Chairs: Aitza Pabon, Farel Valazquez, & Marinelly Valentin Technology Chairs: Fernando Nuñez, Ivan Llerando Roman Webmaster: Hae Kim

### Noreen Clough Memorial Scholarship

This award recognizes graduate student females in fisheries programs in North America. This award is named in memory of Noreen Clough, the long-time USWFS administrator and former National Conservation Director for B.A.S.S. This \$1,000 scholarship is presented on behalf of the SDAFS Blass Bass Conservation Committee by committee chair Gene Gilliland.

#### **Recipients:**

*Amy Cottrell* (Auburn University) *Amanda Guthrie* (Virginia Institute of Marine Sciences)

### Jimmie Pigg Memorial Outstanding Student Achievement Award

This award is presented on behalf of the SDAFS Warmwater Streams Technical Committee by committee chair, Brian Alford. The Recipient receives a \$500 travel award and a complimentary one-year membership to AFS.

#### **Recipient:**

#### Mathew Acre

For his research on flow regimes effects on Blue Suck spawning movements, habitat use, and recruitment in the lower Colorado River, Texas.

## **Robert M. Jenkins Memorial Reservoir Research Scholarship**

This scholarship is presented on behalf of the SDAFS Reservoir Technical Committee by committee representative Stephen Brown. This award provides financial assistance to graduate students conducting reservoir-related fisheries research in the Southeastern United States.

### **Recipients:**

Hunter Hatcher (Mississippi State University)

For his research focused on the effect of supplemental brush piles and agricultural plantings in mudflats on the growth and recruitment of juvenile gamefish in Enid Reservoir, MS.

### Jeremy Plauger (Auburn University)

For his research on the economic impact of fishing on Lake Eufaula to surrounding communities in Alabama and Georgia.

## **Catfish Management Committee Scholarship**

This \$300 scholarship is awarded to offset meeting travel costs on behalf of the SDAFS Catfish Management Technical Committee and presented by committee chair, Jason Olive.

### **Recipient:**

Corbin Hilling

For is work with Blue Catfish in Chesapeake Bay tributaries