Awards at the 2016 SDAFS Business meeting

John F. Dequine Award for 2015

The John F. Dequine Awards are presented for the best fisheries paper presentation at the annual SEAFWA conference.

Runner Up, Dequine Award:

Kevin J. Hining

Use of Trail Cameras to Assess Angler Use of Two Remote Trout Streams in North Carolina plaque and \$50 check; certificate for co-authors

1st Place, Dequine Award:

David L. Buckmeier, Nathan G. Smith, J. Warren Schlechte, Allyse M. Ferrara, and Kirk Kirkland

Characteristics and Conservation of a Trophy Alligator Gar Population in the Middle Trinity River, Texas

- plaque and \$100 check, certificates for co-authors

Best Student Subunit Award for 2015

Mississippi State University

Outstanding Chapter Award for 2015

Georgia Chapter

Distinguished Service Award for 2015

Not awarded.

Outstanding Achievement Award for 2015

The Outstanding Achievement Award was given to **Pat Mazik** for her role in mentoring students and her AFS contributions at the West Virginia Chapter, Southern Division, and Society levels.

2015 Merit Awards:

Texas Parks & Wildlife Department

Georgia Department of Natural Resources

Mississippi State University

There is nothing an editor likes more than getting a steady supply of well-written manuscripts on pertinent topics for his or her journal. And since I took over the Journal of the Southeastern Associated Fish and Wildlife Agencies in 2011, the three most-published agencies/universities have been the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Georgia Department of Natural Resources, and Mississippi State University. Over the last four years, these three groups have submitted a total of 23 manuscripts – more than 25% of submissions!! Over the last three years – the coverage of this award – these agencies comprised almost a third of all submissions. These manuscripts covered a variety of topics important to fisheries management in the 21st century, such as genetics, alligator gar population dynamics, stocking efficacy, effects of introduced species on native fishes, and novel management techniques for largemouth bass. A journal is no better than its submissions, and these folks have definitely set the bar for this journal. I tell them all the time, but I am happy to see their devotion and diligence rewarded with this muchdeserved award.

Steve Sammons SEAFWA Fisheries Editor

Best Poster Award – SDAFS 2015

First Author:

Eric Tidmore (West Liberty University). Epigean Crayfishes of the North, Middle, and South Forks of the Kentucky River: Life History and Ecology. \$50.00 check, plaque; certificates for co-authors (**Nicole Sadecky** and **Zachary Loughman**)

Best Student Presentation Awards – SDAFS 2015

2nd place, Best Student Presentation:

First Author:

Derek L. Bahr (University of Georgia). Atlantic Sturgeon Recruitment in the Savannah River, Georgia.- \$50.00 check, plaque; certificates for co-authors (**Douglas L. Peterson**)

1st place, Best Student Presentation:

First Author:

David A. Dippold (University of Southern Mississippi). Estimation and Validation of the Length-at-Age Relationship of Mississippi's Spotted Seatrout. - \$100.00 check, plaque; certificates for co-authors (**Robert T. Leaf, J. Read Hendon** and **James Franks**)

Additional Awards – SDAFS 2016:

Resolution of Appreciation to the Host Chapter (Program & Meeting Chair, Host Chapter):

General Meeting Chair , Patricia Mazik (plaque)

Program Chair: Kyle Hartman (plaque)
Finance Chair: Brandon Keplinger
Fund Raising Chair, Lara Hedrick

Local Arrangements Chair: Frank Borsuk;

Local Arrangements Chair, Student Affairs Chair, Dave Wellman

Registration Chair, Scott Morrison

Webmaster, Audiovisual and Technology Chair Jim Hedrick;

Poster Session Chair: Dave Thorne and Erin Thayer

Symposia Chair: Stuart Welsh Workshop Chair: Frank Borsuk

Certificates of Appreciation were presented to several SDAFS leaders, including:

Bob Curry (2013-2015 SDAFS representative to SEAFWA), **Brandon Peoples** (2013-2014 SDAFS Newsletter Editor, 2015 SDAFS Listserv Administrator, 2013-2015 Student Representative to the SDAFS EXCOM),

Sasha Doss (2015 SDAFS Newsletter Editor), Nicole Rankin (2015 SDAFS Student Affairs Committee Chair), Gene Wilde (2015 SDAFS Awards Committee Chair), Zach Martin (2015 SDAFS Webmaster), Brian Alford (2015 SDAFS Webmaster), Hae Kim (2015 SDAFS Webmaster), Jessica Baumann (2013 - 2015 SDAFS Podcasts), Chris Wood (2015 SDAFS Podcasts).

Robert M. Jenkins Scholarships were presented by Incoming Chair of the SDAFS Reservoir Committee Lawrence Dorsey. The \$1,000 scholarships were awarded to **Clay Raines** (Mississippi State University) and **Cole Harty** (Tennessee Tech University). Dorsey expressed the committee's appreciation of Mossback Fish Habitat for sponsoring both scholarships this year.

Brian Alford, Chair of the SDAFS Warmwater Streams Technical Committee, presented the **Jimmie Pigg Memorial Outstanding Student Achievement Award** to **Andrew Taylor** of Oklahoma State University for his work on the conservation genetics of shoal bass. The award included a plaque, \$500, and one-year membership to AFS.

Jerry Brown, Chair of the SDAFS Catfish Management Technical Committee, presented its first **student scholarship** to encourage students to attend technical committee meetings. The \$300 award went to **Joseph Smith** of Virginia Tech for his work with blue catfish and was used to help offset his cost to attend the SDAFS meeting.

John Damer, Chair of the SDAFS Trout Technical Committee, recognized **Monte Seehorn** who started the Trout Technical Committee over 47 years ago and has provided invaluable service to the Committee and trout conservation during his career.

Awards Presented at the Alabama-Georgia Chapter meeting in Columbus, Georgia on February 11, 2016.

The following were presented with Certificates of Appreciation:

Brad Ray, Student Affairs Chairman for the 2014 and 2015 **Steven Sammons**, SEAFWA Fisheries Editor 2011-2015

For their service in planning the 2015 SDAFS Spring Meeting in Savannah, GA the following were award Certificates of Appreciation:

John Kilpatrick, Symposia Chairman Brian Irwin, Student Affairs Co-Chairman Tim Bonvechio, Workshop Chairman Cynthia Williams, Student Co-Chairperson and Federal Liaison